WABL FAQ’s 2024

For more information see our FAQ page here


WABL – The WA Basketball League (WABL) is WA’s representative junior basketball competition. Basketball associations (clubs) from Perth, the Hills, Rockingham, Mandurah, and Bunbury field teams in this competition.

Each club is invited to enter up to four teams (10 players per team) in each of the following age categories, boys and girls:

  • U12 (players born in 2013/2014)
  • U14 (players born in 2011/2012)
  • U16 (players born in 2009/2010)
  • U18 (players born in 2007/2008)
  • U20 (boys only – players born in 2005/2006)
  • U21  (girls only – players born in 2004/2005/2006)


STATE CHAMPIONSHIPS -The Basketball WA State Championships is a series of carnivals that run over five weekends from the end of November through to mid-December. 

Every Perth-based and country-based basketball association (club) is invited to enter in each of the following age groups, girls and boys.

  • U11 (players born in 2013/2014)
  • U13 (players born in 2011/2012)
  • U15 (players born in 2009/2010)
  • U17 (players born in 2007/2008)
  • U19 (players born in 2005/2006) BOYS
  • U20 (players born in 2004/2005/2006) GIRLS

Hawks use State Championships as the First Phase of the WABL Team Selection process for the upcoming year.

Hawks cannot accommodate athletes wanting to play  State Championships only not WABL as the State Champs trials and selection are the first phase of WABL 2024 team selections.

We ask that you please do not register your child to trial for selection for a 2023 Hawks State Champs team if you are not also intending to nominate for WABL selection in 2024.

Current Hawks WABL players who may be injured or unable to take part in 2023 State champs will be an exemption.